Peconic is a small hamlet on the north fork of Long Island which boasts many of the farmstands and vineyards of the north fork.. Next to the today’s Peconic Post Office is what used to be known as the Jefferson store. It was built in 1855 by Captain Horace Prince owner of a lumber yard in Peconic. In this building was a hat shop run by Frank D. Smith who was known as the “Man Milliner of Peconic”. The second floor of the store was a hall where many plays and dances were held and it served as a kind of community center for the hamlet of Peconic.
boatsNorth on Mill Lane was the Old Mill, built in 1841, and wrecked by an awful November storm in 1898. To the south of The Old Mill, on the Peconic Bay side, the land between Broadwaters and Hutchinson’s creeks is known as Indian Neck. There are many beautiful restored 18th and 19th century houses in Peconic, all private homes.